Absolute Beginner Needs Assistance

5 watchers
Sep 2006
7:12pm, 27 Sep 2006
0 posts
  •  
Advice from max71 to start thread so here goes...........<br><br>Hi everyone,<br><br>Been addicted to fetch web site ever since the RNR when i attended with my boss to help with t-shirts on registration. I have not done any exercise since I left school 16 years ago. <br><br>Briefly, I started work for my current employer within the trophy business and speak to a lot of runners/athletes and am amazed at their enthusiasm for running. I was challenged to participate in the Great East Anglia Run in May this year which I did and FINISHED to my amazement. I didn't put in as much training as I wanted because of various reasons so every time I did run it was a chore rather than enjoyment. I was so glad to finish and at the end I said NEVER AGAIN. I now find myself inspired by all you great people that I may take up running but haven't got a clue about it at all. I also have trouble finding time to do things so this will be adding to my list. Any ideas on where to begin???<br>
Sep 2006
7:19pm, 27 Sep 2006
0 posts
  •  
Maclennane
there are lots of beginners' schedules around (look on the runners world site for a start, but they all basically say the same thing. 2-3 times on weekdays run a bit, walk a bit, try to increase the running time each week, and aim at 20mins total time for these. On a Sunday try going really really slow and week 1 run as far as you can as slow as you can, then aim to add 10% per week.

But don't let it become a chore. Run to enjoy. And sign up for a short race in about 5 weeks time. Mebbe a Bushy Park Time Trial.
Sep 2006
7:23pm, 27 Sep 2006
0 posts
  •  
Cheers for that. I have looked at a few websites but they tend to differ so wanted some real advice from the people in the know. I really want to learn to enjoy running and maybe who knows I could become as addicted to it as I have this website.
Sep 2006
7:25pm, 27 Sep 2006
0 posts
  •  
B.B.