4 days from first spring Marathon cough and cold

1 watcher
Mar 2013
4:15pm, 13 Mar 2013
2 posts
  •  
spood1969
Hi all ....4 days away from the Barcelona Marathon and I'm still suffering from a terrible cough and cold.
Has anyone got any experience running a marathon with a cold ???

Cos lets face it 16 weeks of punishment training in this awful winter weather, not to mention hundreds of pounds on flights, accomodation and cars etc etc!!...

I AM GOING TO START !..... well or not
Mar 2013
4:21pm, 13 Mar 2013
48,883 posts
  •  
Puddington
I've no experience of running a marathon with a cold, but usually find running generally with a headcold is fine. A cough may be a different matter though.

Best of luck, in any event! :-)
Mar 2013
4:33pm, 13 Mar 2013
1,764 posts
  •  
minardi.
you poor bugger, what a pain. I have no advice to offer, just sympathy. good luck
Mar 2013
4:41pm, 13 Mar 2013
6,902 posts
  •  
Son of a Pronator Man
That's a shame. I know what it's like. Go, start, take it easy and see what happens. You'll still be having a few days in Barcelona so have a great time.
Mar 2013
4:45pm, 13 Mar 2013
780 posts
  •  
jog-on
I ran my first marathon suffering from a horrible head cold / cough. When I got going it actually wasnt that bad - but I doubt it did anything to help the recovery! BUt like you I hadnt done all that training for nothing! I couldnt tell you if it affected my run or not being my first marathon but I rather suspect my legs gave out before my lungs did ;)
Mar 2013
4:45pm, 13 Mar 2013
3 posts
  •  
spood1969
Thanks all......This will be my 3rd Barca Marathon... And annoyingly my first without carrying an injury !!! Typical !
Mar 2013
4:51pm, 13 Mar 2013
1,981 posts
  •  
ndellar
I was in a similar position to you when I came down with a cold last year a few days before what I considered to be the biggest running event of my life. I was gutted.