10k training advice

1 watcher
May 2013
8:42am, 15 May 2013
First-time poster!!
  •  
fuzzballtony
Hello,
I've just recently run the VLM and i wanna now bring back my running to speedy steady have a change from the long/slow mile training of marathon. So for the rest of this year i'm looking at improving my 10k time my current PB is 40.33. But what is a realistic target to aim for?? And whats best to follow a plan for 10weeks to say a 38min target then after that a new 10week plan to sub ##what ever next. I dont have a set target time in mind as i dont know what is possible in a short time i'm in my 3rd year running and went from a 1hr38m half mara to a sub 1hr30m half last year so i know i can make big jumps.
Any ideas folks???
May 2013
8:49am, 15 May 2013
2 posts
  •  
fuzzballtony
That should read "i wanna now bring back my running to some speedy stuff and have a change from the long......."
Aug 2013
11:35pm, 25 Aug 2013
First-time poster!!
  •  
Martinrafferty
Shame no one has tried to answer this as I would be interested too.
Aug 2013
12:00am, 26 Aug 2013
7,429 posts
  •  
Dvorak
All the fast people have gone to bed - bump it again tomorrow morning.

Two things: a lot of people find that just the increased training volume reduces the 10K and 5K times - run one and find out; and this might give you some ideas http://www.fetcheveryone.com/cms-43
Aug 2013
9:20am, 27 Aug 2013
736 posts
  •  
Canute
It is interesting that there have been few responses to this thread since 10K is one of the most popular distances among Fetchies. I myself have relatively very little direct experience of 10K (though the best ever race of my life was a 10,000m forty- five years ago). When younger, my main event was 5K; now I am old, my main event is HM. So I suppose I have bracketed the 10K.